Home » Uncategorized » What Once Was Lost Is Found

What Once Was Lost Is Found

lost and foundSo I’ve been MIA for a few days now.  Keeping up with a blog is harder than I originally thought.  Especially when there’s so much out there to experience.

What a difference a week makes.  If you haven’t been keeping up, I’ve been lamenting over my inability to get a country cutie to go out on a date with me.  Will I finally decided that enough was enough!  I put things into perspective and decided that if I really wanted to meet people that I would have to continue to put myself out there and take risks.  Sure I might “wink” at a guy and get no response, I may get the ever polite match.com “thanks but no thanks” reply message, but surely there are a few boys out there who want to go out on a date with me.  So I threw caution to the wind and put myself back out there again. A little bit of a bruised ego but hey I’m a tough girl.

Well this week I haven’t stopped smiling.  I started chatting with a sweet guy, my own age that lives in my area.  And I have to say since the very first message it felt like we had been friends forever.  I miss that.  I think we all love that feeling of butterflies in the pit of your stomach.  The anxious anticipation where you hold your breath, waiting for the next message to arrive in your inbox.  Nervously wondering if the other person is still there, are they feeling the same way, thinking about how long you should wait before asking them out.  So after a few days of back and forth we moved from messaging online to Kik (which until last week I had no idea even existed) instant messaging and graduated to actually sharing cell numbers.

I feel like a teenager again!  I had been looking forward to dating again, then got discouraged, and then in an instant I feel like I’ve found a part of me that was lost and forgotten many moons ago.  This awkening has been both startling and refreshing.  I feel alive for the first time in a long time.  I smile.  I never smile.  I smile.  ALL. THE. TIME.  I’m giddy.  I love this feeling.  People around me are beginning to notice the change.  I hope it never goes away.

He is sweet, seems genuine, knows instinctively when to message me, and most importantly he makes me laugh.  I decided to take the plunge and ask him if he wanted to meet.  I was pretty sure he wouldn’t say no.  good news – I’m happy to say we met last night for coffee and although I spent the hours leading up to the date being terrified, it was painless.  No awkward moments, we both look the same as we do in our pictures, and he still makes me smile.  Even better news – we made plans to go out again later this week.

I’m so totally stoked to see where this goes.  I’m going in eyes wide open, with no preconceived notions and just letting things go where they may and enjoying the journey.  If I take anything away with me it’s knowing that I missed having someone take my breath away and that I missed having the excitement of a romantic connection in my life.

I look forward to the road ahead and hope that I will never forget this part of me that has resurrected itself.  I haven’t felt this good since I don’t know when….what once was lost is found again.

 

Leave a Reply

