Home » Uncategorized » Online Dating = Epic Fail

Online Dating = Epic Fail

ImageSo I decided recently that after being separated for over a year that I was good and ready to dip my toe into the online dating pool.  I’d spent months rebuilding my life, getting back into the gym, going out with friends and learning to like myself again.  I must say I’m a pretty great chick…or so I thought.

I spent hours carefully deciding which dating site to sign up for and then took painstaking efforts to create a profile to showcase my best attributes, uploaded a few pics and voila – let the fun begin.  Or not.  I was feeling good about myself prior to this little endeavor – I’m not too young or too old to start over, I’m average looking, great job, active, have a great bunch of friends and smart as a whip. Should be a slam dunk right???

Nope.

Two months later I haven’t been on one date.  Not even a bad one. I’ve chatted over email or text with a couple guys and developed a very high school-esque crush on what I thought was a sweet, young country boy.  What an eye opener that experience was.  So I sit here now with my self-confidence completely deflated wondering WTF is wrong with me?  I now question everything about myself.  Whoever said it was fun getting back into the dating world has a very warped sense of humour.

I fret more now than I did as a teenage girl just getting to know boys.  Geez I never thought I’d be in this position.  It has been a lot more painful than I thought it would be.  I went into this on-line dating world without a care in the world thinking “Hey I’m a pretty decent catch, I’m sure I will enjoy getting to know new people”. 

I’ve decided to take a breather from the whole on-line dating world before I end up curled up in bed with the covers pulled up tight watching The Notebook with a pint of ice cream and a box of tissues. 

What an epic fail.  The good news is I’m starting to talk myself off the ledge.  Stay tuned for more misadventures in moving on…..

 

Leave a Reply

